That One Time I Confused ‘Are’ and ‘Our’ and Felt Stupid

I remember in 3rd or 4th grade we were making thank-you cards for someone who had done something nice for us. Obviously my memory of that time in my life is a bit fuzzy, but I do remember handing my card to an adult who was going to pass the cards on to whoever we were writing to. He looked down at it and told me what a great job I had done, but then he paused. He looked back up at me and said, “oh, you mean A-R-E,” and pointed at my O-U-R. I wanted to redo it but the class was moving on to something else so I just had to leave it. But I remember feeling really dumb.

Leave a Reply

